Vijay Hazare Trophy format age limit selection process salary

Vijay Hazare Trophy format is round robin, a tournament played in one day format. It is a List A cricket in India played for limited overs, 50-50 overs. This blog is about the Vijay hazare trophy age limit, selection process and salary. 

Vijay Hazare Trophy format

It is a List A cricket to prepare cricketers for international level. Vijay Hazare trophy format is round robin, a one day format tournament played for 50 overs. List A cricket falls under domestic cricket of the country. In India Vijay Hazare trophy is a popular cricket tournament which is played for limited overs. It is a type of one day cricket, unlike the Ranji trophy the match is finished in only one day. Ranji tournament is a 5 day cricket tournament based on the test cricket format where two innings are played by both teams. 

How to play Vijay Hazare trophy

Vijay Hazare trophy selection process is similar to zone or domestic cricket selection process. Players need to perform consistently in district and state cricket tournaments. Players playing well in state cricket tournaments are mostly picked in various zone cricket teams.

Vijay Hazare trophy players salary 

It is a list A cricket one of the most popular domestic cricket having similar value to Ranji trophy. Due to its popularity and format it is also known as Ranji one day cricket. Similar to Ranji trophy players salary, Vijay Hazare trophy salary is also Rs 35,000 per match. Rs 35000 salary is earned by playing 11 players and reserved players gets half of it i.e. Rs 17500 per match. 

Vijay Hazare trophy age limit 

The minimum age limit to enter into the tournament is 18 years. Similar to Indian national Cricket Vijay Hazare trophy age limit is not fixed, over 23 years, 30 to 35 years or more older people can also participate in the tournament. Candidates who are above 23 years can participate in the tournament through open age category trials. Necessary to understand one cannot give the trial directly if he/she has not played district and state cricket. Most players are selected from the state cricket tournament.

Vijay hazare 

Vijay Hazare Trophy is named after former Indian cricketer Vijay Hazare who was born in 1915 Sangli, Mumbai, Presidency British India. Now Bombay is known as Mumbai.

Vijay Hazare Trophy is a famous domestic cricket tournament also known as Ranji one day Trophy. It was started in the year 2002-2003 as a limited overs cricket and still played as a limited over cricket. Ranji Trophy plate teams participated in this tournament. The tournament is played on a zone level and players get a salary and healthy breakfast during the tournament. Vijay Hazare players salary is distributed by the state organisation committee after the tournament. 

Total 38 teams are playing Vijay trophy in India regularly. Among these 38 teams Tamilnadu is the most successful team, winning the tournament 5 times followed by Mumbai 4 times. All 30 teams are under zone cricket divided in 5 zones: Central, north, east, south and west zone. 

Vijay Hazare Trophy team names 

Tamil Nadu, Mumbai, Goa, Karnataka, Hyderabad, Keral, Baroda, Gujarat, Saurashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Railway, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Vidarbh, Assam,  Bangal, Jharkhand, Udisa, Tripura, Bihar, Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu Kashmir, Punjab, Service, Andhra Pradesh. 

Vijay Hazare trophy winner list

Tamil Nadu 5 times winner.

Mumbai 4 times winner.


What is the Vijay Trophy age limit?

An 18 year old candidate can participate in the trials. There is no upper age limit, open age category is available for over 23 years old candidates.

How to get selected in Vijay hazare trophy?

You need to consistently perform well in state cricket to get selected in the Vijay Hazare trophy.

Vijay Hazare trophy how many overs?

Vijay Hazare Trophy over limit is 50 overs and one bowler can do 10 overs from each team.

Where can I see Vijay Hazare Trophy live match?

To see the live match you should visit the concerned cricket stadium. Live cricket matches are streamed by star sports, hotstar, jio cinema and fan code etc.

What is the Vijay Hazare Trophy players salary?

Playing 11 gets Rs 35,000 per match and Reserved players sitting on the bench get half salary Rs 17500 per match.

Read more

Indian cricket salary grade

Ranji trophy selection process

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *